To ensure its independence and the neutrality of its recommendations, the National Space Partnership (NSP) will be funded jointly by government, industry and academia, with industry/academia paying the greater share to ensure that it operates as a private company, limited by guarantee.

An approach to how this funding would flow will be considered via engagement with the sector.

Initially, the NSP will be governed by an Interim Steering Group which will provide guidance and expert advice on the direction and focus of NSP activities. Its role will be to create a dynamic vibrant forum to promote information sharing, debate and prioritise relevant themes for consideration by the NSP. The Interim Steering Group will be responsible for reviewing plans and feeding in comments on appropriateness and timelines, offering recommendations for improvement to ensure delivery within the pilot phase.

The Interim Steering Group include:

Stuart Martin

Stuart Martin - Chair

CEO, Satellite Applications Catapult

Harshbir Sangha

Harshir Sanga

Director Growth, UK Space Agency (NSP Sponsor)

Philip Thomas

Philip Thomas

BEIS Space Directorate

Graham Peters

Graham Peters

Chair, Space Growth Board

Nick Shave

Nick Shave

Chair, UKspace

National Space Partnership

Andrew Holland

Chair, Space Academic Network

Ruth Mallors Ray

Ruth Mallors-Ray

National Space Partnership Director Glyn Jones

Glyn Jones

Consultant, Secretariat

The industry is at a critical stage of development as we are on the cusp of an industrial revolution in space. Not only are satellites becoming exponentially more capable every month, but the new technologies for space launch are finally upon us, so the UK has the opportunity to become a powerhouse for both global manufacturing and space launch from the new space ports in the UK.

Will Whitehorn
Will Whitehorn, President UKspace